

FREST DOZES

ಅಧಿಕೃತವಾಗಿ ಪ್ರಕಟಿಸಲಾದುದು ವಿಶೇಷ ರಾಜ್ಯ ಪತ್ರಿಕೆ

ಭಾಗ – ೪ಎ Part – IVA ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು, ಶುಕ್ರವಾರ,೨೯,ಜನವರಿ, ೨೦೨೧(ಮಾಘ, ೦೯, ಶಕವರ್ಷ ೧೯೪೨) Bengaluru, FRIDAY, 29, JANUARY, 2021(MAGHA,09, ShakaVarsha 1942) ನಂ. ೧೪೪ No. 144

KARNATAKA LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FIFTEENTH LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

NINTH SESSION

THE UNIVERSITY OF HORTICULTURAL SCIENCES (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2020

(LA Bill No. 05 of 2021)

A Bill further to amend the University of Horticultural Sciences Act, 2009.

Whereas it is expedient further to amend the University of Horticultural Sciences Act, 2009 (Karnataka Act 11 of 2010) for the purposes hereinafter appearing;

Be it enacted by the Karnataka State Legislature in the seventy first year of the Republic of India, as follows:-

- **1. Short title and commencement.-** (1) This Act may be called the University of Horticultural Sciences (Amendment) Act, 2020.
 - (2) It shall come into force at once.
- **2. Amendment of section 12.-** In the University of Horticultural Sciences Act, 2009 (Karnataka Act 11 of 2010), in section 12, for sub-section (2), the following shall be substituted, namely:-
 - "(2) The Board of Management shall consist of the following, namely:-
 - (i) The Vice-Chancellor of the University.

- Chairperson
- (ii) The Additional Chief Secretary or Principal
 - Secretary or Secretary to Government,

Member

Department of Horticulture or his nominee not below the rank of Joint Secretary.

- (iii) The Additional Chief Secretary or Principal
 Secretary or Secretary to Government, Finance
 Department or his nominee not below the rank of
 Joint Secretary.
- Member
- (iv) The Additional Chief Secretary or Principal
 Secretary or Secretary to Government incharge of
 the Department of Agriculture or his nominee not
 below the rank of Joint Secretary, as may be
 nominated by the Government keeping in view
 the teaching and research programme at the
 University.
- Member

- (v) One eminent educationist and academician of not less than rank of professor with a minimum ten years experience in State Agricultural Universities or Indian Council of Agricultural Research with minimum of three years experience of having served in the Board of Management of any educational institution or as a member of Research or Advisory or Steering or Expert Committees or Councils of a university nominated by the chancellor.
- Member

- (vi) One representative of the State Legislative Assembly and one representative of the State Legislative Council to be nominated by the Government.
- Member
- (vii) One outstanding women social worker nominated by the Chancellor, who has worked on issues of rural development or Gender related issues for a minimum period five years and must have been awarded State or National or international level award in the areas of
- Member

agriculture and allied sectors or Rural development, women empowerment, social causes such as gainful employment, rural health, Education, sanitation.

- (viii) One progressive Farmer owning agricultural land in Karnataka and who has been conferred with a reputed State or Central or International level award for excellence in the areas of Agriculture and allied sectors nominated by the state Government.
- Member

- (ix) One distinguished Agriculture entrepreneur owning Agro-Industry with an experience of ten years in the managerial cadre of any agro-processing industry or value addition in Agricultural and related products having a minimum annual turnover of five crores. And an awardee for excellence in Agro-processing or value addition by Karnataka Government or Central Government organization to be nominated by the state Government.
- Member

- (x) One representative from the Indian Council of
 Agricultural Research (ICAR) to be nominated by
 the Director General, Indian Council of
 Agricultural Research.
- Member

- (xi) One Director to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor.
- Member

(xii) One Dean to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor. - Member

(xiii) Registrar of the University.

MemberSecretary

"

STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

It is considered necessary to amend the University of Horticultural Sciences Act, 2009 (Karnataka Act 11 of 2010) to reduce the number of members of the Board of Management of the University of Horticultural Sciences, Bagalakote as under directions of the Indian Council of Agricultural Research.

Hence, the Bill.

FINANCIAL MEMORANDUM

There is no extra expenditure involved in the proposed Legislative measure.

R. SHANKAR

Minister for Horticulture and Sericulture

M.K. VISHALAKSHI

Secretary (I/c) Karnataka Legislative Assembly

ANNEXURE

EXTRACT FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF HORTICULTURAL SCIENCES ACT, 2009 (KARNATAKA ACT 11 OF 2010)

XXX XXX XXX

- **12. The Board of Management and its constitution.-** (1) The Chancellor shall, as soon as may constitute the Board of Management.
 - (2) The Board of Management shall consist of the following:-
 - (i) The Vice-Chancellor who shall be the Chairperson;
- (ii) The Principal Secretary / Secretary to Government of Karnataka, Horticulture Department or his nominee not below the rank of Deputy Secretary;
- (iii) The Principal Secretary / Secretary to Government of Karnataka, Finance Department or his nominee not below the rank of Deputy Secretary;
- (iv) Two members of the Karnataka State Legislative Assembly to be nominated by the Speaker and one Member of the Karnataka Legislative Council to be nominated by the Chairman:
 - (v) Director of Horticulture, Government of Karnataka, Bangalore;
- (vi) One eminent educationist (not below the rank of Professor) from the field of horticulture to be nominated by the Chancellor;
- (vii) Three progressive horticulture farmers from the jurisdiction of the University of which one person belonging to the Scheduled Caste or the Scheduled Tribes to be nominated by the Government;
- (viii) One agro-industrialist connected with processing of horticulture products to be nominated by the Chancellor;
- (ix) One outstanding woman social worker having background of rural advancement to be nominated by the Chancellor;
- (x) One representative from the Indian Council of Agriculture Research to be nominated by the Director General;
 - (xi) Director of Education of the University;
- (xii) One Dean to be nominated by the Vice-Chancellor by rotation by term of two years;
 - (xiii) Registrar who shall be the Member Secretary.